Robert Noyce

Robert N. Noyce

(photograph of Robert N. Noyce)

Robert Norton Noyce, scientist, engineer, and entrepreneur, was born on December 12, 1927, in Burlington, Iowa. He received a bachelor's degree in physics and mathematics from Grinnell College in 1949 and a doctorate in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1953.

On April 25, 1960, Dr. Noyce was granted a patent for his invention of a Semiconductor Device-and-Lead Structure -- an integrated circuit. This discovery made the microchip possible and launched the modern electronics revolution.

For his scientific achievements he received the National Medal of Science from President Carter in 1980, the National Medal of Technology from President Reagan in 1987, and the Charles Draper Prize of the National Academy of Engineering in 1990. The building that houses Grinnell College's science departments was named in his honor.

Dr. Noyce was co-founder and president of Intel Corporation. In 1988, he was appointed chief executive of Sematech, a consortium linking goverment and private electronic manufacturers. He also served for many years as a trustee of Grinnell College and as chair of the Board of Trustees.

Robert N. Noyce died on June 3, 1990, in Austin, Texas, at the age of 62.

The Robert N. Noyce Senior Student Award

The Robert N. Noyce Senior Student Award was presented to the senior student who, in the judgement of the Selection Committee, made the greatest contribution to the use of computer-based technology while at Grinnell. It recognized not only individual accomplishment, but the breadth and depth of the student's contribution.

Beginning in 1984, the Noyce Award was given annually at first, then irregularly. In 2002, the fund supporting this award was diverted to the development of technology-related curricular projects at the College.

Recipients of the Robert N. Noyce Senior Student Award

1984: Peter Single Kosek and Robert L. Stanis
1985: Lana K. Vick
1986: Lorenz F. Huelsbergen
1987: Albert J. Goodman
1988: Brian D. McMahon
1989: Geoffrey E. Atkin
1990: Phillips B. Wolf
1991: Ashish Gupta
1997: Matthew S. Gast
2000: Alden John Hoot
2001: Rachel Marie Heck

Syndicate content