The Evolution of Technology (TEC154 2005S)

TEC154 2005S At A Glance

This is an abbreviated course syllabus. Like everything else in this course, it is likely to change.

Weeks: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, break, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14.

Week 1: Overview
(01) Monday, January 24, 2005
Introduction to the Course
What is technology? How does one study? Course structure. Expectations.
(02) Wednesday, January 26, 2005
What is Technology?
Assignments: Read chapters 3-5 of Teich (due Friday). Do Homework 1: Course basics (due Friday).
(03) Friday, January 28, 2005
Basic Background
Can technology replace social engineering? Why Wendell Berry is not going to buy a computer Technology and the tragic view Linking these ideas
Due: Teich, chapters 3-5. Homework 1. Assignments: Read Whittaker (handout). Due Monday. Read other handouts. Due Wednesday.
Week 2: Stone Tools (Whittaker, Anthropology)
(04) Monday, January 31, 2005
Stone Tools (1)
(05) Wednesday, February 2, 2005
Stone Tools (2)
(06) Friday, February 4, 2005
Stone Tools (Discussion)
Applying basic philosophies Technology and evolution Stone tools
Assignments: Read chapters 1-4 of Petroski.
Week 3: An Engineering Perspective
(07) Monday, February 7, 2005
Engineering (1)
About Petroski Why read Petroski? Theses Paper clips
Due: Petroski, Chapters 1-4. Assignments: Petroski, Chapters 5-9.
(08) Wednesday, February 9, 2005
Engineering (2)
(09) Friday, February 11, 2005
Engineering (3)
Week 4: The Development of Writing (Lalonde, Classics)
(10) Monday, February 14, 2005
The Development of Writing (1)
(11) Wednesday, February 16, 2005
The Development of Writing (2)
(12) Friday, February 18, 2005
The Development of Writing (Discussion)
Week 5: Other Perspectives
(13) Monday, February 21, 2005
Perspectives (1)
(14) Wednesday, February 23, 2005
Perspectives (2)
(15) Friday, February 25, 2005
Perspectives (3)
Week 6: Solar Energy (Swartz, Chemistry)
(16) Monday, February 28, 2005
Solar Energy (1)
(17) Wednesday, March 2, 2005
Solary Energy (2)
(18) Friday, March 4, 2005
Solar Energy (Discussion)
Week 7: Miscellaneous
(19) Monday, March 7, 2005
Midterm, Part One
(20) Wednesday, March 9, 2005
Midterm, Part Two
(21) Friday, March 11, 2005
Perspectives (3)
Week 8: Structures (Case and Billington, Physics)
(22) Monday, March 14, 2005
Structures (1)
(23) Wednesday, March 16, 2005
Structures (2)
(24) Friday, March 18, 2005
Structures (Discussion)
Spring Break
Week 9: Musical Instruments and Notation (Vetter, Music)
(25) Monday, April 4, 2005
Instruments
(26) Wednesday, April 6, 2005
Notation
(27) Friday, April 8, 2005
Musical Instruments and Notation (Discussion)
Week 10: Human Factors in Technology
(28) Monday, April 11, 2005
Human Factors (1)
(29) Wednesday, April 13, 2005
Human Factors (2)
(30) Friday, April 15, 2005
Human Factors (3)
Week 11: Biotechnology (Robertson, Biology)
(31) Monday, April 18, 2005
Biotechnology (1)
(32) Wednesday, April 20, 2005
Biotechnology (2)
(33) Friday, April 22, 2005
Biotechnology (Discussion)
Week 12: Patents (Brand, VP)
(34) Monday, April 25, 2005
Patents (1)
(35) Wednesday, April 27, 2005
Patents (2)
(36) Friday, April 29, 2005
Patents (Discussion)
Week 13: Computing (Rebelsky, Computer Science)
(37) Monday, May 2, 2005
Computing (1)
(38) Wednesday, May 4, 2005
Computing (2)
(39) Friday, May 6, 2005
Computing (Discussion)
Week 14: Student Presentations
(40) Monday, May 9, 2005
Presentations (1)
(41) Wednesday, May 11, 2005
Presentations (2)
(42) Friday, May 13, 2005
Wrapup

Disclaimer: I usually create these pages on the fly, which means that I rarely proofread them and they may contain bad grammar and incorrect details. It also means that I tend to update them regularly (see the history for more details). Feel free to contact me with any suggestions for changes.

This document was generated by Siteweaver on Wed Feb 9 19:39:47 2005.
The source to the document was last modified on Tue Jan 18 11:42:36 2005.
This document may be found at http://www.cs.grinnell.edu/~rebelsky/Courses/TEC154/2005S/Handouts/glance.html.

You may wish to validate this document's HTML ; Valid CSS! ; Check with Bobby

Samuel A. Rebelsky, rebelsky@grinnell.edu