Rail yard background, from the Library of Congress

Connections

A Hypertext Resource for Literature

back one section Section back one page Page    Page 13.5.5    Page forward one page Section forward one section

Syllabus for English 323:
Studies in Eighteenth-Century
British Literature

Fall 2007


Thursday, August 30

Course introduction and outline.


Tuesday, September 4

Group 1 response: Write your response based on a moment in the text where Defoe seems to reveal something about his framing of the facts on the ground, as we might call them. How do these moments contribute to our sense of what Defoe is up to in the Tour? This will be a response workshop day.

Note: here and throughout this syllabus, the first (less indented) list of readings is required, while the second (more indented) list of readings is supplemental and optional. Here, for example, the readings by Defoe are required, whereas the ones about him are optional.


Thursday, September 6

  • Bernard Mandeville, "The Grumbling Hive" (1705)

  • Edward Hundert, "Mandeville, Rousseau, and the Political Economy of Fantasy"

    • The Dictionary of Literary Biography on Mandeville

Group 2 response: Write a response from the starting point of a moment in which Mandeville's text gives you a sense of the another position in an implied debate: how does Mandeville let you know about his opposition and thereby how he responds? This will be a response workshop day.


Tuesday, September 11

  • Samuel Richardson, Pamela; Or, Virtue Rewarded (1740), pages 3-82

Group 3 response: Write this response based on a passage that introduces a specific, unexpected image or metaphor that you think will remain important in the novel.


Thursday, September 13

  • Richardson, Pamela, 82-182

Group 4 response: Use this response to discuss a surprise you found in this second section. What do you see here that you did not expect from Richardson after our last discussion? This will be a response workshop day.


Tuesday, September 18

  • Richardson, Pamela, 182-299

Group 1 response: open response


Thursday, September 20

  • Richardson, Pamela, 300-415

Group 2 response: open response


Tuesday, September 25

  • Richardson, Pamela, 415-503

Group 3 response: open response


Thursday, September 27

Group 4 response: open response


Tuesday, October 2

  • Tobias Smollett, The Expedition of Humphry Clinker, 1-64

Group 1 response: open response


Thursday, October 4

  • Tobias Smollett, The Expedition of Humphry Clinker, 64-133

Group 2 response: open response


Tuesday, October 9

  • Tobias Smollett, The Expedition of Humphry Clinker, 134-201

Group 3 response: open response


Thursday, October 11

  • Tobias Smollett, The Expedition of Humphry Clinker, 202-275

Group 4 response: open response


Tuesday, October 16

  • Tobias Smollett, The Expedition of Humphry Clinker, 275-353

Group 1 response: open response


Thursday, October 18

Group 2 response: Find a point of intersection between these articles and use it as the basis of your response. That intersection can be one of agreement, disagreement, or a revealing difference in the two scholars' approaches.


Friday, October 19th

SHORTER PAPER DUE UNDER MY OFFICE DOOR
BY 3:00 P.M.


FALL BREAK


Tuesday, October 30

Group 3 response: Use this response to make a specific connection between something Hume argues and a feature of one of the earlier, imaginative texts we have read together.


Thursday, November 1

  • Adam Smith, The Wealth of Nations, 1-32, 138-197

Group 4 response: Use this response to help us discuss Smith in the context of a literary seminar. You can do that in one of two ways, either by pointing to Smith's use of a literary device to make his argument or by connecting one of Smith's arguments to something we have seen in a literary text.


Tuesday, November 6

Library day! Get started on the (relatively long) Johnson reading.


Thursday, November 8

  • Samuel Johnson, A Journey to the Western Islands of Scotland

Group 1 response: Use a specific passage from Johnson as the starting point for a comparison between this travel narrative and Defoe's.


Friday, November 9

PAPER PROSPECTUS DUE BY 5:00


Tuesday, November 13

  • James Boswell, The Journal of a Tour to the Hebrides with Samuel Johnson, LL.D., 155-254

  • We will also spend some class time discussing annotated bibliographies today.

Group 2 response: open response


Thursday, November 15

  • Maria Edgeworth, Castle Rackrent, Marilyn Butler's Introduction and first part, 1-84

Group 3 response: open response

We will also spend some class time doing a workshop of bibliography annotations using examples that I will bring.


Tuesday, November 20

  • Edgeworth, Castle Rackrent, 85-138

Group 4 response: open response


Wednesday, November 21

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY DUE UNDER MY OFFICE DOOR BY NOON


Tuesday, November 27

  • Jane Austen, Mansfield Park, 5-59

  • Viviana Zelizer, "Coupling" from The Purchase of Intimacy

Group 1 response: open response


Thursday, November 29

  • Austen, Mansfield Park, 60-145

Group 2 response: open response


Tuesday, December 4

  • Austen, Mansfield Park, 146-250

Group 3 response: open response


Thursday, November 6

  • Austen, Mansfield Park, 251-338

Group 4 response: open response


Tuesday, December 11

PROGRESS REPORT DUE TODAY BY EMAIL

  • Austen, Mansfield Park, 339-439

Group 1 response: open response


Thursday, December 13

Last day: wrapping up, composing class cheers and slogans for the big finals parade.


Wednesday, December 19

FINAL PAPER DUE BY NOON

 

back one section Section back one page Page    Page 13.5.5    Page forward one page Section forward one section